• Jordan Dalah from Australia - International Woolmark Prize Finalist 2022
    Jordan Dalah from Australia - International Woolmark Prize Finalist 2022
  • International Woolmark Prize Finalists 2022
    International Woolmark Prize Finalists 2022

The Woolmark Company has unveiled the finalists for the 2022 International Woolmark Prize. 

Seven emerging designers from across the globe have been recognised as finalists, including Australian designer Jordan Dalah. 

Joining Dalah on the list of finalists is: 

  • Ahluwalia, United Kingdom
  • EGONLAB, France
  • MMUSOMAXWELL, South Africa
  • Peter Do, USA
  • Rui, China
  • Saul Nash, United Kingdom

To determine the finalists, the Woolmark Company and a panel of industry members whittled down hundreds of applications to the remaining seven. 

"We’re thrilled to introduce the next generation of creative game-changers to take part in the 2022 International Woolmark Prize," Australian Wool Innovation (parent company of The Woolmark Company) CEO, John Roberts said. 

"As the award continues to evolve, our aim is to support designers to think beyond today, highlighting the innovation, versatility and sustainability of Merino wool and showcase its basis for new technologies to meet the discerning needs of tomorrow’s customer," he said.

Each finalist will receive a $60,000 grant for the development of a Merino collection and will be supported by the program’s education and mentoring initiative, the Innovation Academy, which includes mentoring from industry leaders. 

This year's theme 'Play' invites finalists to experiment with textiles, design, supply chain and business practices to showcase innovation for the future. 

The finalists will then present their Merino wool collections for autumn/winter 2022, highlighting the transparency in their supply chain. 

The winners will then be selected by a panel of industry experts in April 2022. 

One finalist will be awarded the International Woolmark Prize and receive $200,000 to invest in the development of their business.

The Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation will be awarded to another finalist, with the winner receiving $100,000.

The Woolmark Supply Chain Award will also be presented, celebrating outstanding contribution from a trade partner driving wool supply chain innovation. 

All finalists will also have the opportunity to be stocked at some of the world's leading retailers via the International Woolmark Prize Retailer Network.

The 2022 International Woolmark Prize finalists

comments powered by Disqus