Cue Clothing founder and chairman Rod Levis has taken home the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Australian Fashion Laureate for 2023.

Executive directors Justin Levis and Melanie Levis accepted the award on behalf of Rod, who was unable to make the event.

“Justin and I are so proud of Dad's contribution to the industry over so many years and to have been recognized for this prestigious award by IMG and the Australian Fashion Laureate,” Melanie Levis said. “We both want to apologise that Rod is unwell and unable to be here and, without hesitation, we know that this is his greatest honour.

“To be recognized by this award, particularly by so many people whom he has looked up to and worked with over the years, who are involved in the Australian Fashion Laureate, makes this award even more special.”

Justin Levis said the Australian Fashion Laureate has awarded Rod the highest possible honour.

“His motivation has really driven us and the whole team to where we are today,” he said. “It is encouraging, and inspiring, and pushes the best in all of us to be able to make the company what it is today. Congratulations Dad. Well done.”

Hosted by IMG, the awards also recognise excellence across categories including Designer of the Year, Emerging Designer of the Year, Indigenous Designer of the Year, Sustainable Innovation of the Year and the Carla Zampatti Award for Excellence in Leadership.

The five other notable winners included Christopher Esber, who took home the Designer of the Year award; Kit X founder Kit Willow won the Sustainable Designer of the Year; Ngali founder Denni Francisco was awarded the Indigenous Designer of the Year award; Alix Higgins scored the Emerging Designer of the year award; while the Powerhouse Museum CEO Lisa Havilah was chosen for the Carla Zampatti Award for Excellence in Leadership.

The winners were determined by a panel of over 30 industry leaders comprised of the Australian Fashion Laureate Lifetime Achievement recipients, leading fashion journalists, creatives, and top business and retail executives.

IMG Fashion Events and Properties APAC MD Natalie Xenita congratulated the lineup of winners for 2023.

“The Australian Fashion Laureate champions the best in Australian fashion and this year’s winners showcase the diversity of skilled creatives and professionals who have contributed to Australian fashion’s cultural and economic impact,” she said. “It’s our privilege to come together in celebration of their accomplishments and leadership in the company of our esteemed peers.”

The Australian Fashion Laureate is supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and events agency Destination NSW, alongside supporters including David Jones, The Volte and Soho House.

Soho House will provide the Designer of the Year with one ‘Cities Without Houses’ Membership and access to any Soho House venue for publicity or showroom purposes.

The Emerging Designer of the Year, Indigenous Designer of the Year and Sustainable Designer of the Year will each receive a Soho House Fellowship membership.

The award ceremony was held at Bennelong Restaurant at the Sydney Opera House on October 12, 2023.

comments powered by Disqus