• NIFA 2020 - Paul McCann Art
    NIFA 2020 - Paul McCann Art

The Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair Foundation (DAAFF) has announced the 2021 nominees for the National Indigenous Fashion Awards (NIFA). 

Launched in 2020, the NIFAs celebrate the rich history and diversity of Australia’s First Nations art, design, and culture through an industry recognised awards ceremony. 

The nominations fall into six categories and winners will be determined by a judging panel of four industry experts. 

The 2021 judging panel is comprised of: 

  • Yatu Widders-Hunt: Yatu is a Dunghutti and Anaiwan woman, and a Director at Cox Inall Ridgeway. She is the founder of @ausindigenousfashion on Instagram and Facebook
  • Maria Rinaldi-Cant: Maria is Head of Design, Women's and Childrenswear at Country Road
  • Gary Lang: Gary is a Larrakia man and is the Artistic Director of NT Dance Company. He is a renowned choreographer, dancer, artist and textile designer
  • Leila Naja Hibri: Leila is the CEO of the Australian Fashion Council

The 2021 NIFA Nominees are: 

Cultural Adornment and Wearable Art
Worn items that are created as fine or expressive art and that are used to define or express culture.

  • Cassie Leatham - Wild Blak Arts
  • Elisa Jane Carmichael
  • Krystal Hurst - Gillawarra Arts
  • Lillardia Briggs - Houston - Ngarru Miimi
  • Lydia Baker - Bush Magic Metal
  • Michelle Woody Minnapinni and Rachel Freddy Puruntatameri - Jilamara Arts and Crafts Association
  • Paul McCann
  • Rhonda Sharpe - Yarrenyty Arltere Artists
  • Yvonne Odegaard - Moydra Designs

Textile Design
Includes designs of woven, knitted or other textile constructions as well as dyed, printed or surface ornamented textiles.

  • Alice Nampitjinpa Dixon - Ikuntji Artists
  • Deborah Wurrkidj - Babbarra Women’s Centre
  • Eunice Napapangka Jack - Ikuntji Artists
  • Francoise Lane - Indij Design
  • Keturah Zimran - Ikuntji Artists
  • Lillardia Briggs-Houston - Ngarru Miimi
  • Mavis Nampitjinpa Marks - Ikuntji Artists
  • Merrepen Art Centre
  • Rhonda Sharpe - Yarrenyty Arltere Artists
  • Wayne Connolly - Yarrabah Art Centre

Fashion Design
A commercial fashion label with a minimum of two collections of original design of clothing, jewellery or accessories.

  • Denni Francisco - Ngali
  • Nancy Pattison - Indii Swimwear
  • Natalie Cunningham - Native Swimwear

Environmental and Social Contribution
Excellence and leadership in environmental and social development understanding, and practice in relation to textiles and fashion.

  • Annabel Amagula - Anindilyakwa Arts
  • Liandra Gaykamangu - Liandra Swim
  • Mylene Holroyd - Pormpuraaw Art & Culture featuring Simone Arnol designs

Community Collaboration
Recognition of effective and productive relationships between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and the textile and fashion industry.

  • Anindilyakwa Arts
  • Hope Vale x QUT fashion collaboration - Wuwu (Soul) collection
  • Ikuntji Artists - Publisher Textiles
  • Wayne Quilliam

Special Recognition
For a group, organisation, or individual that has shown exceptional contribution to the development of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander textiles and fashion.

  • Bima Wear
  • Yarrenyty Arltere Artists

The 2021 NIFA Winners will be presented at an awards ceremony hosted on Larrakia Country on Tuesday August 03.

The NIFAs are proudly sponsored by the Northern Territory Government (via Northern Territory Major Events Company) along with industry award sponsors including Australian lifestyle label Country Road. 

comments powered by Disqus